Mindset, Skillset, Toolset explained

The NoTosh Design Thinking process has five distinct phases: Immersion, Synthesis, Ideation, Prototyping and Feedback. Helping your team to work efficiently and effectively through each phase relies on them first understanding what mindset they should be in at each stage, secondly identifying what skills they need to move through the phase and finally deciding what tools they need to develop their skills.

Let’s start with some definitions:

  • Mindset: How you see, perceive and view the world around you – your beliefs and way of thinking that determine your behaviour and outlook, how you’ll interpret and respond to situations.
  • Skillset: How you act and behave based on your capabilities, knowledge and understanding as well as your motivation to put your abilities to use – ie. your mindset
  • Toolset: What mechanisms you use to develop your skills and achieve your objectives – these can be any number of methods, techniques, models, approaches and frameworks that create value in your chosen field.

Working through the five phases of the NoTosh Design Thinking process, it’s critical that your team’s Mindset should be open and receptive to new ideas, to the opportunity to view the world differently.

Try it out! Go to Mindset, Skillset, Toolset in action in our Lab to see how you can put this ideology into practice.

Get in touch


Ewan McIntosh

Help yourself to the latest ideas from the NoTosh team
and our client partners